It’s Time To Stand Up For Ourselves

“Deep down, I believe in love and life and doing unto others as you would have them do to you.”

Thought Catalog

Flickr / Shandi-lee CoxFlickr / Shandi-lee Cox

One of the hardest things for me to do is recognise my own worth.

Even in some of the most meaningful and lengthy relationships I have, I find it difficult to say: “You aren’t treating me how I deserve to be treated.”

Intrinsically, this is laced with, “I demand that you give me more than you are.” But, in my imagination, saying I should be getting more translates, via the self-critical, unloving voice in my head, as: you think you’re so. Fucking. Awesome. Don’t you? Who the hell are you, anyway?

I don’t want to have a conversation with anybody wherein I risk an accusation of immodesty or inflated ego – maybe because on some unconscious level I am accusing myself of the same goddamn thing. Such is the nature of not always knowing your merit. Or worse, being afraid of just how awesomely high your significance on this here planet earth is.

View original post 635 more words

Leave a Reply

